A Girl Like Me

A tribute I made especially for Gwen Araujo, “A Girl Like Me”, and girls like her.

I walk down the hall

See kids lining down the walls

I know they have IDs, and roles to play in

Unlike me

 

I wish I had one,

Like the girls doing their make ups

Jocks going round flashing muscles

Slamming fists on lockers

Unlike me

 

I wonder if there is

Someone out there, in this world, maybe

Who looks like me, acts like me

A girl like me

 

I wonder if people know

That this world has more colors

Rather than black and white, a place with no space for

A girl like me

 

Someone there, if you hear my cry,

Please speak out so I can hear you,

And stand for our rights, for the minors, obscure and judged

For people like me

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

